Quotes About Conspiracy Theories

As you may know, I have a particular dislike for conspiracy theories and for those who fall for them.

I just wanted to share these quotes I have found that I really like.   Several I just found on one of those quote sites, but the last has the link to where I found it.

“Liars begin by imposing upon others, but end deceiving themselves.”

Unknown

“A liar begins with making falsehood appear like truth, and ends with making truth  itself appear like falsehood.”

William Shenstone

“Do not consider it proof just because it is written in books, for a liar who will deceive with his tongue will not hesitate to do the same with his pen.”

Maimonides

Real Life is insanely complicated and, to be completely honest, it’s often just a bunch of chaotic unrelated events caused by so many different factors that we simply cannot comprehend the links. But a conspiracy theory gives us a clear idea that something (They) is behind all of this and since They have an agenda, it all serves some purpose, after all.
In other words, conspiracy is (post-)modern God.

http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/SoYouWantTo/WriteAConspiracyTheory

I’ve got a story I’m writing that almost qualifies as a conspiracy-theory story, even given my view on these things.  I say almost, thought, because it doesn’t seek to “explain” any events in history, only those within the story itself, all of which take place 400 years from now!  Well, anyways, I’ve got an immoral secret government agency that has expanded its influence greatly, I’ve got a civil war, I’ve got assassinations and reassignments and encrypted communications and all sorts of fun things.  And tons of spies!  So I’ve been reading some articles that I’ve found, relating to the type of story I’m writing.  So I came across the linked article.  I was reading along when I came across the quote above.

I have put this post in the “Messianic” category because, unfortunately, I have seen several of those in the messianic movement fall prey to this paranoia.

But the concept that “conspiracy is (post-)modern God,” that’s something that never occurred to me.

I was going to expound upon this a little here, but I think I’ll do so in another post.

Leave a Reply

